Life is Change

I am moving out of the apartment that I have lived in for over 6 years. I have loved this place. I have loved this town. It has become a part of me that will not be forgotten. I have shared both the worst and the best times of my life in this apartment, literally. Now it is time to move on. I feel it in my bones. It is time to let go and turn a new page to write a new chapter.

This does not mean that I will not miss this apartment with all my heart. I have healed from more heartache here than I ever thought possible. I have come to know Jesus more intimately than I ever thought possible. I learned how to be a single women here, how to fix things, how to change bike tires, how to balance a washing machine. I learned how to be on my own, a skill that is too often over looked and under appreciated in our hook up culture.

I wrote songs here. The walls may hold a melody when I leave, they may miss the sound of my voice as I will miss their protection. I have grown so accustomed to living here that I don’t even turn the lights on to walk around, I just know where I am going. I will miss this place. The familiar smell, the familiar sounds of the street traffic, the breeze from the lake.

Now I say goodbye to this place where I have laid my head. I am thankful for the time I spent here and as I turn over the key I know that I am not alone, Jesus has His hand in mine. We walk away together because He has prompted me to move on and He holds each tear that I cry as my heart sifts through this change. My home is not on this earth, my home is with Jesus and He goes with me wherever I go.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

One thought on “Life is Change

  1. I love to hear what God is doing in your life Lacey. Your story gives me hope and encouragement for the uncertainties in my own life. It reminds me that our Father is faithful, He restores and uses our trials to refine and bring us to maturity in Christ. I am grateful and astounded by His love.
    Deb Emerton

Leave a Reply

